Powell County, KY Barn Quilts

Barn quilt trails are popping up all over the place! I first noticed these wooden quilt squares a few years ago. I began photographing them and to my delight, realized that many counties in Kentucky have their own unique quilt trail maps. 

Barn quilts are painted quilt squares. They are usually made with boards and are most often placed on barns. However, they can be spotted on buildings or homes. At the last count, the Bluegrass State had around 800 painted quilts. You can easily find a quilt trail map of many different counties here:

 Barnquiltinfo.com/map-KY.html

Although I live in Fayette County, I had started this particular trail on a recent trip across the Mountain Parkway. I decided to finish it today and share my finds with you! This particular map was a little hard to follow since the exact addresses were not provided. It took a while but I managed to find some really pretty ones! 

Powell County is an Eastern Kentucky county that is very well known for the Red River Gorge and Natural Bridge. Most of these quilt squares are near Clay City or Stanton, KY.
szu5P51HyJgBgka2.jpg
#1 Located on West Bend, this was the first square I found. This, I believe, is called the Double Nine Patch pattern.8gxNXMFAcOAgBUcd.jpg

#2 Also located on West Bend, this Triple Tulip pattern had some nice colors in it. 

LMvT1I7DPNDxVgjc.jpg
#3 West Bend Pineapple pattern (?) 

SQ9CS6XI0djWnE11.jpg

#4 Not sure of this pattern 

ixyAzEIfDzAL8E2S.jpg

#5 Caught a glimpse of this blue/ white square 

BznuxltaL1vEajkN.jpg
#6 I’m assuming this one may include a last initial. A little blurry, but I like the colors! 

tvsjZ9UpDYHtoaGl.jpgqYgTQegB4scmO9GI.jpg

#7 One of my favorites! These colors on a black barn look great!

XjwfKctOPHDl0SI2.jpg9Mtt5SFhlwD2upCo.jpg

#8 Another favorite! On Furnace Mountain, this lone star pattern really stands out. 

LTKPkdSQpaiMSJiO.jpg

#9 Located on Cat Creek, this barn settled in the fall foliage was really pretty.

fGF9EQDeE7pAmYZ3.jpg
#10 This was a much smaller square posted on a fence. I’m counting it anyway. 
ILE1YVO9KWYrK2QC.jpgaydb3G0bQu4sRAaU.jpg
#11 South Fork barn with a variation of a lone star pattern (I think). 

r3trqDdItDYZN3i2.jpg

#12 Hubcap Alley square at Slade visitor center 

IwDzHDWI3t5HA8vu.jpg
#13 Cane Creek Road  Little Red Schoolhouse pattern 

VUO22Dk03ZbPJXaT.jpg

#14 Lower Cane Creek- Flower basket pattern 

J3MPwJT1b2sXQ91v.jpg
#15 On a home- Dresden Plate pattern 

dnrnqtSzpkvnMutI.png
BHnzW6OCuuTXyKdi.jpg

#16 Cane Creek  – unknown pattern 

iM5cyMLNI7eZPNYQ.jpg

#17 Lower Cane Creek  Princess Feather Pattern 

UrPS6bL1U73WT3wr.jpg
#18 Too cute not to include with the quilt blocks.

FBgPan3cRvJFVQ8J.jpg

#19 Rooster – see below the reason for this choice. 

dIHXij59Nr9iNrsc.jpg
sjUSfv764KqYRj8t.jpg

#20 Church Street – I was told this was the first one in the county. 

kIYiW6AWOToDhwOH.jpg
#21 I forgot which street this was on. 

85RnhCeS99kqB5FP.jpg

#22 I spotted one on a carport.

PSGNWDc5icvVU1pX.jpg
#23 Holman Drive – Maple Leaf pattern 

ze9hDPSOm02WMNDc.jpg

#24 I came across this pattern and I’m not sure what it is. Really pretty!

CPJAuhClRGN4Fj5W.jpg

#25 smaller square 

diamVLvNZ3hRFDU3.jpg
#26 Sunflower pattern 

sSdhWqpFAPZJr67g.jpgGauYJABfLWaZg6kR.png
#27 Flower Garden Pattern on Lower Hatcher Creek 

LIXKp75LZkjBVMW5.jpgSJ44twvt7E6Ks58h.jpg
#28 Snow Creek 

CnDsxf8dkly672Zz.jpg2WHzdprmiwMBy5Nx.jpg
#29 and #30 on homes 

2k546P0vXs0NXA31.jpg

#31 Not sure about this pattern. 

b7Ha21ewFiRdHrcH.jpg
#32 Little Hardwick’s Creek  -Trip Around the World Pattern

rURud70DDTQKRqQh.jpg

#33 Little Hardwick’s Creek – Buttercup  Pattern 

4QsTnfkeEDTS17hD.jpg
#34 Snow Creek- Cactus Basket pattern 
I think there are about five I missed but would like to add when I can. If anyone knows any of the patterns I missed, please let me know. Thanks for coming along on my adventure! 

Laura 

Leave a Reply

